Skip to content

Summer Spies and a Hot Guy

August 11, 2009

I finally got around to trying out USA’s Burn Notice. I honestly wish I done so earlier. Although, I don’t think I really knew what it was about before I started watching. I probably would have never even looked at it if Tenillypo hadn’t recommended it. In my opinion, the network could have done a better job promoting the show. Then again, its charm is something I believe  you need to experience in order to appreciate.

The main character, Michael Weston, used to be a spy before he was “burned,” which means he was basically fired and wiped from the government records. It was done without warning or cause.  It is the catalyst for Michael’s primary objective: to figure out who burned him and why. While doing so, he uses his special set of skills to help a client solve a problem in each episode. These are often people who would otherwise not have the means or connections to change their situation. Michael seems to help them out of compassion and a sense of justice.

He works with Fiona,  an ex-girlfriend who has a similar set of skills and a short fuse, and Sam, a friend who is a former Navy seal and an FBI informant. They all have light playful relationships that make watching them enjoyable. Their loyalty to each other is palpable – if one of them needs help with a job, the others are there to help, no questions asked.

Michael’s family is also often thrown in the mix. His mother uses guilt to try and work Michael and it’s easy to see where he gets his power of persuasion from. This is often portrayed in a comedic way and their love for each other is always obvious. His brother has gambling problems and is in and out, often needing Michael to get him out of trouble.  His father died, but he continues to be an active presence in the family, with the entire family carrying baggage from his abuse during their childhood.

Michael Weston may be one of the most bad-ass characters I have ever seen. He is confident, versatile, cool under any circumstance and blows stuff up on a regular basis. Did I mention he is super hot? When I first saw Jeffrey Donovan I didn’t think much about how he looked. When watching him as Michael Weston, I have to fan myself on a regular basis. He oozes sex appeal.

Michael and Fiona have enough sexual tension to keep their relationship interesting. There is a little “will they/won’t they” to their relationship, but it isn’t the central focus of the show. Fiona is just as talented and strong as Michael. She keeps up with him and is always portrayed as his peer. Let’s hear it for gender equality! She can be a loose cannon, but I like that about her. She is a big personality and does not apologize for it.

It all comes down to this – if you like shoot outs, disguises, spying, explosions, fun accents and hot people you will most likely enjoy this show.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. calicobonny permalink
    August 17, 2009 12:33 pm

    I feel the same about Leverage on TNT. I don’t know why I don’t consider watching basic cable TV more often. The shows have more leeway and aren’t as hampered by advertising revenue so things are allowed to grow creatively. I should give more of these shows a shot.

  2. Laura permalink
    September 24, 2009 11:55 am

    Hey! Are you going to Outline what your Fall TV Schedule is going to be?

    • incandescentflower permalink
      September 24, 2009 12:10 pm

      Hey Laura! Yeah, I was thinking about it. I have to admit, I haven’t quite kicked back into the fall season yet. This is the kick in the pants I needed. Thanks!

Leave a comment