Skip to content

Back to School

September 24, 2009

So the fall season is upon us and new TV is nigh.

And it seems fitting that since the fall TV schedule aligns so well with the start of the school year that the new shows I am trying would be about students. Here are my first thoughts about the new series I have picked up:

Glee is one of the most enjoyable shows on television. It is fun and light. It has a diverse group of characters and they sing and dance! Now, if singing and dancing isn’t your thing, you probably won’t be too keen on it. But it has many charms and worth taking a look at.

Vampire Diaries is cashing in on the vamp craze and doing so with mixed results. The first episode was wildly entertaining: campy vampire fog, bad brother versus good brother, female main character who isn’t an empty vessel.  But the second episode didn’t further the plot at all and Stefan and Elena’s “epic” love has yet to be fleshed out. I’m keeping an eye on this, but it may not be a keeper.

I also tried Community. Although I have friends who enjoyed it, I felt very luke warm about it. I’m going to try it a few more times and see where it goes.

In terms of returning shows, I’m still letting some of the premiere’s rattle around a bit.   Here are some of my initial reactions to shows that I will be continuing to follow this season:

Mad Men: So depressing, yet so fascinating.  This is one of the more thought provoking shows I watch. It often triggers emotions about gender roles, parenting and the limits of our society. It is a great show, but not recommended if you are looking to turn your brain off.

Gossip Girl: Chuck and Blair! Chuck and Blair! Ahem. Sorry. This season has started off on a strong note. GG continues to be soap at its best. No character is above screwing up or being devious. I love it and am extremely psyched about this season.

House: Last season, I had fallen out of love with House. But this season’s premiere brought back a spark for me. There are so many things I loved about this episode that I think it will require its own post. Stay tuned.

How I Met Your Mother: After getting past how obnoxious Lily was in the premiere with her pushy, busy body antics and how obviously pregnant Colby Smulders is, this was a rather enjoyable episode. I love Barney and Robin. If they can continue the games and playful back and forth, I think the writers can keep them fresh instead of letting them get stale. And since Colby is having her baby soon, I’m sure her absence will put another wrinkle in their story. I wasn’t opposed to how they got rid of Lily for Alyson Hannigan’s leave. It wasn’t realistic (what on this show is?), but it was simple and effective. I’m curious to see what this show pulls out of its bag of tricks for Robin. I guess only time will tell.

Bones:  God, I loved Bones when I first started watching it. Now, I feel like I keep watching hoping I’ll get the spark back. There are still moments that I enjoy, but overall it has lost much of its luster. The twist of this season – Booth’s brain surgery making him think he is in love with Brennan (when supposedly he really isn’t? I guess? I thought he was? I don’t understand) is not grabbing me. I guess it is better than some of the other stuff they have thrown at us. Besides, Booth and Bones are at their best when there is tension between them. Lose the tension, lose my interest.

Supernatural: Brothers torn apart by the Apocalypse.  Need I say more?

The Office: Jim and Pam continue to be the most adorable couple on television. They also prove that couples can continue to be interesting after they get together. It doesn’t hurt that the rest of the characters continue to make me laugh until I cry. Parkour!

And finally, I’m still awaiting the premieres of Ugly Betty and Dollhouse.

As you can see it is a full schedule. I’m hoping we’ll have much to discuss!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. calicobonny permalink
    September 28, 2009 11:12 am

    I’m mostly agreeing with you when it comes to these shows.

    I’d add two more: Flashforward and Modern Family.

    Flashforward is strange and rather frightening, but the first episode really left me interested to see what will happen next. And I’m a big Ralph Fiennes fan.

    The first episode of Modern Family is simply one of the funniest things I have seen in a long time. It uses a mocumentary style that is so popular these with great success. I hope that the pilot does not turn out to be a fluke, otherwise this show is a keeper.

    I also feel the need to give a shout out to Parks and Recreation which is becoming one of my favorite shows. The first season started a bit rocky, but really picked up by the end and the first two episodes this season have been great.

    • incandescentflower permalink
      September 28, 2009 2:09 pm

      I had yet to watch Parks and Recreation, but yes, I agree.

      I might break down and watch Modern Family. It depends on when it is on. I can’t watch Flash Forward. I already watch three different things at 8pm on Thursday. It is ridiculous. I guess if it gets more buzz, I’ll watch it online sometime.

      • calicobonny permalink
        September 29, 2009 9:42 am

        Yeah, I actually watch most shows online these days. There is no way I could DVR everything I want to watch on Thursdays. I like watching things online better anyway.

        I think I’m going to ditch Gossip Girl and wait to see the season on DVD. It’s feeling like a chore to watch at the moment. It’s easier to get into a show on DVD, I think.

Leave a Reply

