Skip to content

What are you doing, House?

October 1, 2009

I wish I could just say good bye to House.

My affections for this show have been slowly waning ever since they broke up the original team. I pretty much disliked the entire new group, except for Kutner, and we all know what happened there.

So when I thoroughly enjoyed this season’s opening episode I was pleasantly surprised. Now, I have a background working in mental health and the show took great leaps in its portrayal, in my opinion. However, I don’t really expect realism when it comes to the mental health system on television, so I let all that slide. What I really loved about this episode was House’s growth. He obviously made some progress dealing with his issues and I thought they portrayed that well. I especially loved that for the first time on the show they were able to show that one moment where he did something different. The moment he could build upon. And I think they rightly pointed out that he wasn’t all of a sudden cured; he still has a lot of work to do.

I had heard before this season started that they were planning to bring Chase and Cameron back to the forefront and this also pleased me greatly. I loved their wedding and thought that this season was the right time to bring them back. Then I found out that they were writing Cameron out of the show. I am so extremely disappointed by this. This weeks’ episode continued the themes of the parts I enjoyed from the season premiere and the scenes from next week’s episode show Cameron and Chase involved in the story.  If I didn’t know Cameron was leaving, I would be overjoyed. But it seems as though the writers are going to tease us with a cohesive team just in time to rip it apart.

What is going on with this show? I’m starting to think I should just expect them to do the exact opposite of what I want and either accept that or stop watching.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    October 2, 2009 9:06 am

    Re: Cameron- What?! Man, I was excited by the prospect that we were going to get the original gang back, but I guess that excitement will be short-lived.

    • incandescentflower permalink
      October 2, 2009 9:31 am

      Yeah it really is sad. I’ve heard some speculation that it has to do with the end of the real relationship between the actors who play Chase and Cameron. But seriously? They can’t put it behind them and act professional? Whatever, I’ll keep watching, but the squee is gone.

Leave a Reply

