Skip to content

Summer television watching:

May 26, 2009

It’s summer and that means no new shows for quite a while. It also means that I can catch up on some shows I have either stopped watching or never watched.

I’m slowly making my way through Fringe on Hulu, which I had abandoned fairly early on in the season. I must say it is an entertaining show and the episodes improve as the season goes on. However, it is in the vein of the X-Files and I was never one for scary/grossness.

Because I am a masochist I have decided to start watching the Sarah Connor Chronicles. I have the first disc of the first season waiting at home. I’m sure I will love it and then be utterly annoyed that it was canceled.

I also think I need to give in and start watching Gossip Girl. I saw the first episode when it aired and thought it was really stupid. I guess I will need to give it more of a chance since so many people seem to like it.

Busy summer.

Update:

Fringe was much better than expected, but still not great. The lead character, Olivia is rather annoying and if there is supposed to be chemistry with the male lead I’m just not seeing it. And there were many episodes featuring animal experimentation, which I just can’t handle.  Even after all that I will probably watch the second season on Hulu.

The Sarah Connor Chronicles: Ok, I’ve only watched the first episode and it seems like it will be fun, but there are two things that are annoying me. First, Sarah is supposed to be 33? How old is John? Did she have him when she was 17? Linda Hamilton certainly didn’t look 17 in the first Terminator. Second, if Sarah destroys Skynet, as  she supposedly does in the second movie, doesn’t John disappear? I mean wouldn’t Kyle Reese never come from the future if he wasn’t sent there because of the war? I know with time travel shows you just have to overlook some things, but that just seems like kind of a big one.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. incandescentflower permalink
    May 26, 2009 2:29 pm

    Gossip girl and Sarah Connor from the beginning! You’ll have to post your thoughts! Those were two of my favorites this past year. And after seeing the Terminator movie, it makes me even more sad that they cancelled SCC. Gossip girl gets better in the middle of the first season. I watched the first few episodes when it premiered and dropped it. Now I love it.

    I gave up on Fringe quickly. It wasn’t so great. Let me know if it gets better.

  2. incandescentflower permalink
    June 4, 2009 7:43 pm

    I don’t know about your first question, since I’m not great with details, do they come out and say she is 33? I know the show doesn’t ascribe to the “Back to the Future” idea of time travel. They think of it like string theory where there are parallel futures. So John’s birth can’t be undone. And she destroyed cyberdyne, which was supposed to become skynet, but it will be come clear that how they expect things to happen don’t always happen that way and the future shifting doesn’t keep Judgment Day from happening, it just shifts the time period.

Leave a Reply

