Skip to content

Book geekery

May 7, 2009
by

I’m talking about books again. My DVR isn’t set up, and I’m getting hopelessly behind in my television watching.

In my post-Twilight reading haze, I grasped around for another fix of teen romance and action, minus about three quarters of the navel-gazing. I stumbled on Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments trilogy. I feel bad bringing it up, but I’ll establish that Ms. Clare made a name for herself as a Harry Potter fanfiction writer before she secured a publishing deal. It seems almost unfair to mention it, but there are a few elements of her writing that jump out at me as heavily based in fanfic culture. I can’t tell you what, exactly, without spoiling a lot of plot. I say it seems unfair because she actually is a really good storyteller, and has done a marvelous job of creating a dynamic and exciting fictional world. I’ve read some criticism that her fantasy world rips off too much in the already crowded sci-fi/fantasy market, but really, if you have a world populated by demons, vampires, and werewolves, there are going to be some common mythic tropes that need to be trotted out. These creatures are popular in fiction for a reason, and I’m not convinced that something is an automatic rip off simply for incorporating them into a fantasy world.

The books are packed full of action and plot twists that shocked me to the point where I almost chucked them across the room in reading rage. I may have also screamed at the books a little. That said, I absolutely could not stop reading them. The teen heroine can get a little self-absorbed and whiny at times, but she’s nowhere near as annoying as Bella Swan. A small point of contention I have is that it seems like almost every teen heroine these days has sexy curly red hair, which is getting a little old and smacks a bit too much of Mary Sue-ism. Overall, I highly recommend these books for indulgent summer escapism.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

